About Lord Murugan & Arupadaiveedu

Lord Muruga is a powerful deity and most of us are familiar with his six abodes but don’t know much about them.

The six major temples of Lord Murugan spread across Tamil Nadu, India. They are collectively known as the Arupadai veedu.

Pilgrims often visit all six temples in order and complete the tour in a single journey. It is considered a way of retracing Murugan’s steps and paying homage to him at each of his adobes.

Devotees believe that by visiting all six temples, they will be blessed with health, wealth, and happiness. The Arupadai Veedu are some of the most popular pilgrimage sites in the Temple state of Tamilnadu.

Each of the six temples has its own unique history and legend that is worth learning more about.

Our guide to the Arupadai veedu will introduce you to these amazing temples tour in order and help you plan a pilgrimage.

It includes in-depth information about each of the six temples, including directions on how to get there, what to see and do when you’re there, and where to stay.

Arupadai Veedu List in Order

The six abodes are located at Thiruparankundram, Tiruchendur, Palani, Swamimalai, Thiruthani, and Pazhamudircholai are at remote hilltops. At Tiruchendur, the massive temple is by the seaside.

1. Thiruparankundram

Importance: Lord Murugan’s Marriage

Related Post  60 Tamil Year Names in Tamil (தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு பெயர்கள்)

Lord Murugan Called: Arulmigu Subramaniya Swamy

District: Madurai

Arulmigu Subramaniya Swamy Temple in Thiruparankundram is the first temple of Arupadai Veedu. Lord Muruga is worshipped as Subramaniyan at this shrine on the outskirts of Madurai.

The temple is a cave temple on a hill that was built in the 8th century by a king named Maravarman Sundara Pandiyan. 

The location is thought to be where Murugan married Deivayanai, the daughter of Lord Indra, as a thank you for Murugan’s victory over the demon king Surapadman.

2. Tiruchendur

Importance: Destroying the asura Surapadman

Lord Murugan Called: Senthinathan

District: Thoothukudi (formerly Tuticorin)

The second Arupadaiveedu is the Thiruchendur Murugan temple. The shrine was built to honor Murugan’s victory over the demon king Surapadman. It is the only temple dedicated to Muruga which is located near a seashore, as the other five are in hilly regions.

According to legend, after the death of Surapadman, Lord Muruga wanted to thank his father Shiva, so the divine architect Mayan was summoned and the shrine was constructed. Muruga can be seen in the posture of praying to his father.

3. Palani (Pazhani)

Palani Murugan temple 3rd Arupadai Veedu

Importance: Lost the Gnana Pazham

Lord Murugan Called: Dhandayuthapani Swamy

District: Dindigul

Palani (Thiruaavinankudi) Murugan temple is the third Arupadai Veedu of 6 houses of Lord Murugan.

According to legend, Shiva decided to hold a competition between his two sons, Ganesha and Muruga, when Sage Narada visited Lord Shiva in his abode and presented him with a fruit known as the fruit of knowledge. 

The fruit would be given to the one who arrives first after surrounding the globe. Muruga accepts the challenge and begins his journey around the world on his vahana, the peacock.

Related Post  60 Tamil Year Names in Tamil (தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு பெயர்கள்)

Whereas, Ganesha told Shiva that his parents are his world, and would walk around them. As a result, Ganesha was the winner, and Shiva bestowed the fruit upon him.

When Muruga returned, he came to know that his elder brother had already won the fruit, disappointed Muruga left the Kailash and stood atop the Palani Hills.

4. Swamimalai

Importance: Preaching the Pranava Mantra “OM”

Lord Murugan Called: Balamurugan & Swaminatha Swami

District: Thanjavur

The fourth Arupadai Veedu is Swamimalai. It is also known as Swaminatha Swamy Temple and is located near the temple town of Kumbakonam.

The temple is regarded as the location where Muruga taught his father Shiva the meaning of the Pranava Mantra “OM”. As a result, the location is home to the one-of-a-kind form in which the son is the teacher and the father is the student.

Another distinction is that his vehicle, rather than the peacock in the sanctum, is an elephant; it is believed that the elephant is Airavatha, which was given to Muruga by Indra.

5. Tiruthani

Importance: Marriage with Sri Valli

Lord Murugan Called: Sri Subrahmanya Swami

District: Tiruvallur

Many stories are associated with this temple.

According to a legend, Indra gave Muruga his daughter Devayani to marry and gave him his elephant Airavata as a gift. When Indra noticed that his wealth was shrinking after Airavata left, Muruga offered to return the elephant, but Indra refused and insisted that the elephant face his direction, so the image of the elephant in the temple also faces the east rather than the deity.

In another scripture, Muruga is said to have rested atop the hill to calm himself down after killing the demon king Surapadman at Thiruchendur. And he met Valli and fell in love with her then the marriage between Lord Murugan and Sri Valli took place in this temple.

Related Post  60 Tamil Year Names in Tamil (தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு பெயர்கள்)

6. Pazhamudircholai

Importance: Darshan to devotees with both his consorts

Lord Murugan Called: Solaimalai Murugan & Kurinji Nilam Kizhavan

District: Madurai

The Vel, Lord Muruga’s weapon, has been worshipped as the presiding deity in the shrine since time immemorial. 

Lord Murugan is known as Kurinji Nilam Kizhavan in this temple, and he is accompanied by his consorts Valli and Devayani, the only temple among the six abodes where Murugan alongside his consorts blesses his devotees.

Arupadai Veedu List Infographic

arupadai veedu list in tamil

Arupadai Veedu Map

FAQs – Arupadai Veedu

What are the 6 houses of Murugan?

The six abodes in the order are Thiruparankundram, Tiruchendur, Palani, Swamimalai, Thiruthani and Pazhamudircholai.

Why it is called Arupadaiveedu?

Arupadai Veedu is a Tamil word which means “Six war houses of the Lord Murugan”

Which day is special for Lord Murugan?

Vaikasi Visakam is dedicated to Lord Murugan as it marks the birth anniversary of the Muruga.

4 responses to “Arupadai Veedu (அறுபடை வீடு) – The Six Abodes of Lord Murugan in Tamilnadu”

  1. வணக்கம், Nice information with specialty of each Arupadai veedu Murugan temple and list.

  2. Nice & brief explanation about 6 house of lord murugan. 🙏🙏


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.