Loading Map

No Results Found

About the Kshetras

The Pancharama Kshetras, also known as Pancharamas or Pancharamalu, is a historical collection of five temples spread throughout the Andra Pradesh State of South India.

These five Lord Shiva temples came into existence from a single Shiva Lingam that was broken and fell in different locations.

Every ancient holy site has an intriguing history to tell that remains etched in the heart of the devotees.

Legend/Story of Pancharama Kshetras

In the past, Andhra Pradesh was home to Kasyapa, Atri, Bharadwaja, Viswamitra, and Jamadagni, five legendary sages. 

The people of the area held great regard for these sages because of their immense knowledge and consciousness.

One day, a powerful demon(rakshas) named “Tarakasura” started to wreck havoc and ruin the peace of the land.

The sages realized that they had to put an end to the demon’s reign of terror to safeguard harmony in the place

But the Rakshas had received a boon from Lord Shiva to be invincible with a Shivalingam on his neck.

No one could defeat him due to the power of the Shivalingam, and a war between Asuras and Devas began.

In this war Lord Karthikeya and Tarakasura faced each other, in the course, Karthikeya used his Shakthi Astra to kill Tarakasura.

Tarakasura was killed, yet the pieces of his body were reunited on repeated slaughter.

The great sages came together and began making decision to carry out a massive “yagna ritual” in order to please Lord Shiva and seek help.

Amararama, was the first place where yagna began and prayed to Lord Shiva, begged for his blessings and a second location called Draksharama was chosen.

The third location was Ksheerarama, where a temple dedicated to Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva was consecrated.

At the fourth location, Somarama, sages prayed and pleaded Lord Shiva to obtain blessings.

At the finally and fifth location, named Bhimarama sages prayed for Lord Shiva to appear and provide a solution for Tarakasura’s destruction.

After this religious yagna by sages, Lord Shiva appeared and granted them blessings.

After Kumara Swamy was born

Kumara Swamy, son of Lord Shiva and Maa Parvathi was born, Lord Vishnu in the form of Lord Sriman Narayana guided Kumara Swamy to kills Tarakasura.

Demon Tarakasura had all the power from the Shivalinga that he worn in his neck, likewise Kumaraswamy used his Aagneeastra to breakdown the Shivalingam.

He knew that the broken Shiva Lingam would unite again, and Tarakasura wold come back to life.

To prevent this, as per Lord Vishnu’s words all the shivalinga pieces where fixed at the places where they fell.

A temple was erected on the broken pieces of Shivalingam at five different locations, which are now the “Pancharama Kshetras”

Kumara Swamy was a great disciple of Lord Shiva who successfully destroyed the demon Tarakasura by breaking the powerful Shivalingam in his neck by chanting the Omkara Mantra “OM”.

The demon was conquered, and peace was restored to the land.

After Tarakasura’s Destruction

At Lord Vishnu’s command, Surya Deva fixed the parts and worshipped them by erecting temples over them.

The Shivalinga pieces stopped moving when temples were built, which later gained popularity as “Pancharama kshetras

Surprisingly, scales and marks can be seen on all of the five Shiva Lingams in these fice locations, which are presumed to be created by Kumara Swamy using his Aagneyaastra

According to tradition, Indra, Surya, Chandra, Vishnu, and Kumara Swamy place these five pieces as Shiva Lingams in five different temples.

People from all over the area traveled to the Pancharama Kshetras to offer their prayers and seek the blessings of Lord Shiva and Lord Vishnu.

These events turned the temples into sacred pilgrimage places. 

The temples the great sages of Andhra Pradesh wished to exist are still standing today as a tribute to their knowledge and devotion to the land.

Find the Pancharamalu list & in-depth information about each temple below.