Observing Sankashta Chaturthi is believed to help in removing all difficulties and obstacles in life. Sankashti Vrat and Puja is dedicated to Lord Ganesha.

Hindu Calendar is based on Lunar months, each calendar month has two Chaturthi tithis.

One is after the full moon (Purnima), called as Krishna Paksha is known as Sankashti Chaturthi and the one after new moon (Amavasya), called as Shukla Paksha is known as Vinayaka Chathurthi.

In Tamilnadu, Sankashti Chaturthi is known as Sankatahara Chaturthi or Ganesha Sankatahara.

If Sankashti Chaturthi falls on Tuesday, it is called as Angarki Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi falls in Magh month is known as Sankat Chauth.

Sankashti Chaturthi observance timings may differ from city to city as it is observed from Sunrise to Moonrise.

READ  Sri Rama Navami 2017

We recommend you to search your city Moonrise timings at https://www.timeanddate.com/moon/.

Readmore about Sankashti Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi 2017 Dates

  • Sunday, 15 January               Sankashti Chaturthi, Sankat Chauth
  • Tuesday, 14 February             Angarki Chaturthi
  • Thursday, 16 March                Sankashti Chaturthi
  • Friday, 14 April                         Sankashti Chaturthi
  • Sunday, 14 May                       Sankashti Chaturthi
  • Tuesday, 13 June                     Angarki Chaturthi
  • Wednesday, 12  July               Sankashti Chaturthi
  • Friday, 11 August                     Sankashti Chaturthi, Bhahula Chathurthi
  • Saturday, 09 September        Sankashti Chaturthi
  • Sunday, 08 October                Sankashti Chaturthi, Karwa Chauth
  • Tuesday, 07 November          Angarki Chaturthi
  • Wednesday, 06 December    Sankashti Chaturthi
Spread the Hinduism

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.