Observing Sankashta Chaturthi is believed to help in removing all difficulties and obstacles in life. Sankashti Vrat and Puja is dedicated to Lord Ganesha.

Hindu Calendar is based on Lunar months, each calendar month has two Chaturthi tithis.

One is after the full moon (Purnima), called as Krishna Paksha is known as Sankashti Chaturthi and the one after new moon (Amavasya), called as Shukla Paksha is known as Vinayaka Chathurthi.

In Tamilnadu, Sankashti Chaturthi is known as Sankatahara Chaturthi or Ganesha Sankatahara.

If Sankashti Chaturthi falls on Tuesday, it is called as Angarki Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi falls in Magh month is known as Sankat Chauth.

Sankashti Chaturthi observance timings may differ from city to city as it is observed from Sunrise to Moonrise.

We recommend you to search your city Moonrise timings at https://www.timeanddate.com/moon/.

Read more about Sankashti Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi 2020 Dates

Monday, 13 January                 Sankashti Chaturthi, Sankat Chauth

Wednesday, 12 February        Sankashti Chaturthi

Thursday, 12 March                 Sankashti Chaturthi

Saturday, 11 April                     Sankashti Chaturthi

Sunday, 10 May                        Sankashti Chaturthi

Monday, 08 June                     Sankashti Chaturthi

Wednesday, 08 July                Sankashti Chaturthi

Friday, 07 August                     Sankashti Chaturthi, Bahula Chathurthi

Saturday, 05 September         Sankashti Chaturthi

Monday, 05 October               Sankashti Chaturthi

Wednesday, 04 November     Sankashti Chaturthi, Karwa Chauth

Thursday, 03 December          Sankashti Chaturthi

Leave a Reply