Observing Sankashta Chaturthi is believed to help in removing all difficulties and obstacles in life. Sankashti Vrat and Puja is dedicated to Lord Ganesha.

Hindu Calendar is based on Lunar months, each calendar month has two Chaturthi tithis.

One is after the full moon (Purnima), called as Krishna Paksha is known as Sankashti Chaturthi and the one after new moon (Amavasya), called as Shukla Paksha is known as Vinayaka Chathurthi.

In Tamilnadu, Sankashti Chaturthi is known as Sankatahara Chaturthi or Ganesha Sankatahara.

If Sankashti Chaturthi falls on Tuesday, it is called as Angarki Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi falls in Magh month is known as Sankat Chauth.

Sankashti Chaturthi observance timings may differ from city to city as it is observed from Sunrise to Moonrise.

We recommend you to search your city Moonrise timings at https://www.timeanddate.com/moon/.

Read more about Sankashti Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi 2019 Dates

Thursday, 24 January       Sankashti Chaturthi, Sankat Chauth

Friday, 22 February           Sankashti Chaturthi

Sunday, 24 March             Sankashti Chaturthi

Monday, 22 April               Sankashti Chaturthi

Wednesday, 22 May          Sankashti Chaturthi

Thursday, 20 June             Sankashti Chaturthi

Saturday, 20 July               Sankashti Chaturthi

Monday, 19 August             Sankashti Chaturthi, Bahula Chaturthi

Tuesday, 17 September      Angarki Chaturthi

Thursday, 17 October          Sankashti Chaturthi, Karwa Chauth

Friday, 15 November            Sankashti Chaturthi

Sunday, 15 December         Sankashti Chaturthi

 

Leave a Reply